Andhra Pradesh Government ratified new pension scheme for all workers
Monday, June 14, 2010
Andhra Pradesh Government ratified new pension scheme for all workers

Hyderabad: The Building and other Construction Workers Welfare Board meeting chaired by the Chief Minister Dr K Rosaiah held at Secretariat today ratified a New Pension Scheme for all the workers coming under this category. Each registered worker under this scheme will get Rs.1,000/-per month after attaining 60 years of age. The scheme is applicable to all registered construction workers. Those are eligible to enroll under the scheme between the age group of 18-50 years. The contribution of worker is only Rs.200/- per year. The Board pays Rs.1,000/- per year as an incentive (premium) and Central Government also contributes Rs.1,000/- per year.

Under the categories of construction workers included are: Stone Cutter or Stone Breaker or Stone Crusher, Mason or Brick layer, Carpenter, Painter or Varnisher, Fitter including Bar Bender, Plumber for road pipe work, Electrician, Mechanic, Well Sinker, Welder, Head Mazdoor, Sprayman or Mixerman (Road Surfing), Wooden or Stone Packer, Well Driver for removing silt, Hammerman, Thatcher, Maistry, Blacksmith, Sawer, Caulker, Mixer (including Concrete Mixer Operator), Pump Operator, Mixer Driver, Roller Driver, Kalasis or sarang engaged in heavy engineering construction, watchman, mosaic polisher, tunnel worker, rock breaker, quarry worker, marble/Kadappa stone worker, road worker, earth worker connected with construction work, worker engaged in processing lime, worker engaged in anti-sea erosion work, helper and rigger. The Chief Minister agreed to positively consider the proposal of the Commissioner of Labour that the Muttah Jatir and Hamal workers (Head load workers), Domestic Workers, Rickshaw pullers and auto drivers to be brought under the ambit of Unorganised Workers Act 2008 and a Committee is being formed to work out welfare schemes for these categories. The Board has till date 8.54 lakh registered workers and identity cards distributed to 6.60 lakh workers and Establishments registered are 5,103.

The Board has collected a cess of Rs.400 crores from various construction companies and contractors. It is also proposed to construct a Building for the A.P. Building and other Construction Workers Welfare Board at a cost of Rs. 5 crores. The Chief Minister will lay the foundation stone for the building soon and the building will have a big dormitory for construction workers from far off places when they work in Hyderabad. The Board also approved a total benefit of Rs. 2 lakhs---Under the Personal Accident Benefit Scheme -- Rs.1,25,000/- and under Aam Admi Bima Yozana / Janasri Bima Yozana---up to Rs.75,000/- The Board will implement a Scheme of Personal Accidental Benefit Scheme by providing a coverage of Rs.1,25,000/- and the definition of the Total Permanent Disability / Partial Permanent Disability will be in tune with the definition given under the AABY / JBY. The District Call Centres of the Federation of SHGs and the services of Bima Mitras engaged by them will be utilized for settlement of the claims under the above scheme.

Under the Maternity Benefit scheme, each claimant will be paid Rs.5,000/- per confinement. The claimant shall be a registered construction worker of the Board. Her membership should be live. Benefit under the scheme of Rs.5,000/- will be extended per confinement restricted to 2 confinements, which will be duly noted down in the Pass Books to be issued to all the registered Women Workers. This benefit will be in addition to the benefit being extended under Centrally Sponsored Scheme by the Health, Medical & Family Welfare Department. Each construction worker's family will be paid a funeral expense of Rs.5,000/-.

The Board meeting approved this proposal too. Free ambulance services will also be provided for shifting the body to the deceased's native place. Minister for Labour and Employment, R Venkat Reddy, Chairman, Construction Workers Welfare Board, S. Gopal, Principal Secretary, Labour, Bhanwarlal, Commissioner of Labour, Sri. D. Srinivasulu, Principal Secretary, Finance, L V Subramaniam, Principal Secretary, Rural Development, S S Rawat, Secretary, MA&UD, Pushpa Subramaniam, Additional Commissioner, Labour, H K Nagu and other officials attended the meeting.

Image Gallery
Connect Us
Copyright © & owned by OMIS Private Limited. All rights reserved. Designed & Developed by OMIS Private Limited.
Server hosted at Suryanandan.Net