BJD inducts new leaders from Janata Dal, OGP
Monday, September 24, 2007
BJD inducts new leaders from Janata Dal, OGP

Bhubaneswar: Evidently unnerved by the political realignment scheduled to take place here tomorrow, the ruling Biju Janata Dal today inducted a host of leaders belonging to the Janata Dal, Orissa Gana Parishad(OGP) and the Congress.

The attempt to try and blow the wind out of the NCP sail, the BJD leadership welcomed the new leaders. Prominent among them were Mr Debaraj Seth, Mr Jugal Nayak and Mr Amiya Pandav, the Congress leader Mr Sidheswar Mishra of Dhenkanal and several OGP activists.

It should be noted here that the leadership of both the OGP and the Janata Dal(S) had recently resolved to merge with the NCP. The merger is scheduled for tomorrow in the presence of Union minister Mr Prafulla Patel, Mr Sangma and others.

The JD(S) state president, Mr Ashok Das, who incidentally was the president of the undivided Janata Dal, even when the late Biju Patnaik was the chief minister, OGP president Mr Bijoy Mohapatra and others joined the NCP here.

The new formation had caused a flutter in the ruling BJD-BJP circles, as speculations of several members, switching over to the NCP have been doing the rounds.

Mr Anadi Sahu and Mr Prasanta Nanda ( both senior BJP leaders), Mr Amar Satpathy, former BJD minister, and a few others are likely to join the NCP.

The chief minister Mr Naveen Patnaik said: I do not see any future for the NCP in Orissa. It is a constituent of the UPA ,which is dominated by the Congress.

On asked whether he was preparing for elections, Mr Patnaik said: Political parties always prepare themselves for polls and the BJD is always ready for elections.

Addressing the new recruits, Mr Patnaik highlighted the policies of his government. He talked about employment generation through rapid industrialisation, agriculture development and rural programmes.

Mr Patnaik restrained from criticising the Opposition, leaving the job to his colleagues like Mr Padmanab Behera, Mr Suryanarayan Patra and Ms Pramilla Mullick.

There people were searching for political space over the last 7 years and have now managed to join the Pawar camp, she remarked.

Mr Patra and Mr Behera highlighted the achievements of the government and claimed that the BJD would remain the leader in Orissa.

Image Gallery
Connect Us
Copyright © & owned by OMIS Private Limited. All rights reserved. Designed & Developed by OMIS Private Limited.
Server hosted at Suryanandan.Net