Second Tarang Cine Awards Showcases the Best Works in Odia Cinema
Saturday, March 05, 2011
Second Tarang Cine Awards Showcases the Best Works in Odia Cinema

Report by Pratap Pradhan; Bhubaneswar: The Second Tarang Cine awards, arguably the highest awards show in Odia Cinema was held in KISS campus amidst the who’s who of Odia cine Industry and other celebrities. Bollywood star Satrughan Sinha, Producer Pahlaj Nihalini and actress Riya Sen were the special invitees to this grand show.

24 films released in 2010 participated in the selection process and through a rigorous jury marking and public voting awards in 22 categories were announced. ‘Sanju Aau Sanjana’ was adjudged the best film and Babusan was adjudged the Best Actor (Male) for his performance in the same film. Sudhanshu Sahu bagged the Best Director award for his work in SWAYAMSIDDHA. Barsha Priyadarshini was awarded Best Actor (Female) for her role in ‘Aama Bhitare Kichi Achi’. Film ‘Swayamsiddha’ went away with maximum number of awards including ‘critics’ choice’.

Actor Siddhant Mohapatra was adjudged best actor in negative role for the film ‘Don’. While Mihir Das got the best supporting actor (Male) for the film Sanju Aau Sanjana, Ushashi Mishra got the best supporting actress (Female) award for her role in film ‘Tu Tha Mu Jauchi Rushi’. Best actor in Comic role for went to Papu for his performance in film Sanju Aau Sanjana. Amongst the newcomers Babloo was announced the best debutant actor for film Om Namah Shivaya. Krishna was adjudged the best playback singer (male) for the film Bhul Bujhibani Mote while Ira Mohanty was awarded best playback singer (Female) for film Tu ThileMo Dara Kahaku. Debdas Chotray was judged the best lyricist for film Pahili Raja while Prasant Padhi got the best Music Director Award for his score in Sanju Aau Sanjana.

The life time achievement Award was conferred on eminent playwright and director Bijay Mishra for his contribution to the Odia Cinema for a period more than three decades. Bollywood Actor Satrughan Sinha and Director Orissa Television Jagi Mangat Panda, presented the Tarang Cine Award trophy and a cheque for fifty thousand rupees to the veteran writer.

Bollywood sensation Riya Sen enthralled the audience with her scintillating performance. Other attraction on the stage were Anu Choudhury, Budhaditya, Riya De, Sritam Das. Switee, Sabyasachi, Debasish and Debjani. Actor Babusan’s maiden entry on a white horse was cheered by the audience. Pappu with his unique satirical style did a tongue in cheek review of the films released in 2010 and provided the audience enough opportunity to laugh. The show was hosted by Kuna Tripathy, Budhaditya,Ushashi Mishra and Naina Dash.

Image Gallery
Mukteswar Dance Festival - Odissi Duet by Subhalaxmi Padhi & Arati Kar and Goup Odissi by Subash Swain & Group.
Mukteswar Dance Festival - Odissi Duet
Connect Us
Copyright © & owned by OMIS Private Limited. All rights reserved. Designed & Developed by OMIS Private Limited.
Server hosted at Suryanandan.Net